Saturday, March 31, 2012

Review: Awkward by Marni Bates

Paperback: 300 pages
Release date: January 1st, 2012
Publisher: Kensington Publishing Corp.
Goodreads Summary: Mackenzie Wellesley has spent her life avoiding the spotlight. At Smith High, she's the awkward junior people only notice when they need help with homework. Until she sends a burly football player flying with her massive backpack and makes a disastrous - not to mention unwelcome - attempt at CPR. Before the day is out, the whole fiasco explodes on YouTube. And then the strangest thing happens. Suddenly, Mackenzie is an Internet sensation, with four million hits and counting. Sucked into a whirlwind of rock stars, paparazzi, and free designer clothes, she even catches the eye of the most popular guy at school. And that's when life gets really interesting...
Buy This Book from Book Depository, Free Delivery World WideBuy Now

This is the most adorable book I’ve read in a while! It is a quick and fun and hilarious read that deals with coming out of your own shell and learning how to trust again. Mackenzie, having been famous for her video on YouTube where she knocked out a jock and attempted to do CPR, suddenly faces a life of a Hollywood celebrity over the weekend. She’s been chased with paparazzi and getting the perks of being famous like free designer clothes and backstage passes to her most favorite band’s concert. Not only that, but her long-time crush and the hottest guy in the school—whom she’s tutoring—appear to be interested in her. 

What I love most about AWKWARD is how realistic the characters are. Mackenzie is the type of heroine who I can most relate myself to, being awkward and shy and all. But in reality, she’s an amazing person with a great sense of humor. She sort of reminds me a little of Sheldon Cooper of The Big Bang Theory when she casually drops trivia because it’s interesting to say (which makes me love her more). Another reason why it worked for me is her unwavering personality. If she turned out to be different because of the effects of popularity, I would’ve stopped reading it. The secondary characters were also hard not to admire especially Logan, the Notable of all Notables (read: hottest guy) and Mackenzie’s best friends, Jane and Corey.

Marni Bates wrote an incredibly cute debut novel for teenagers and young-adult readers. AWKWARD is light and sweet and I definitely recommend it to everyone who’s looking for a relaxing and enjoyable read. Fans of Meg Cabot and Stephanie Perkins will surely be entertained with this one. I can’t wait for the companion book with Jane’s story!

 Subscribe in a reader
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...